Agemin vs Privately
Privately runs facial and voice age estimation on the user’s device, so in its words no pictures or biometric data are ever sent to a server, and it publishes on-browser pricing in GBP with a free 100-check sandbox. Agemin runs its facial and email age estimation in the cloud, states it does not store the facial image, and publishes USD pricing with 100 free checks every month. Both facial models are in the NIST FATE age estimation results, so this page can put the same NIST table side by side.
Information last reviewed September 7, 2026. Compared: Agemin’s published plans against Privately’s online age verification products (FaceAssure, VoiceAssure) as publicly described on privately.eu, documentation.privately.eu and developer.privately.eu, in USD and GBP as each provider states them.
Still shortlisting? See all alternatives to Privately, including services we do not sell.
Where Agemin and Privately differ
Where the face is processed
Privately states the age verification happens entirely on the user’s device and that facial images are not transmitted to its servers or to third parties; for the browser product it retains only a session ID and an age range. Agemin processes the selfie in the cloud and states it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum data needed to estimate age. If “never leaves the device” is a hard requirement, Privately is built around it. Note that Privately’s free sandbox tier marks on-device processing as unavailable and says images might be backed up on the server.
Same NIST table, two rows
Evaluated in the NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification track (submission bynn-000, report card updated 3 July 2026): highest True Positive Rate of any evaluated submission in the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 category at 72.53%, with a Mean Absolute Error of 2.094 years. In NIST’s Child Online Safety 13 to 16 table, privately-000 is listed at a True Positive Rate of 0.4822, rank 14, with an MAE of 3.0484 years; on NIST’s main table it is at 3.389 years MAE on the Visa dataset, rank 21. Privately’s own site states “Certified 1.3 years accuracy” for its retail product and 1.29 years for 18 to 20 year olds, from its own testing. All NIST figures are NIST’s, quoted as published.
Two published price lists, two shapes
Privately publishes on-browser tiers of £200 a month for 1,000 checks, £500 for 2,500, £1,000 for 5,000 and £2,000 for 10,000, which is £0.20 per check at full use, with mobile SDK pricing by sales contact. Agemin publishes Core at $0.084 per verification from a $99 monthly minimum and Forensic at $0.024 from a $599 minimum. Both give you 100 free checks: Privately once, in a 4-week sandbox; Agemin every month on the Trial plan.
A method that needs no camera
Agemin offers email age estimation, which returns an age signal from an email address with no selfie, no ID and no card, for flows where a camera prompt would cost you the user. Privately offers voice age estimation as its second on-device method; an email method is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
Agemin and Privately, side by side
| Attribute | Agemin | Privately |
|---|---|---|
| Methods offered | Facial age estimation with liveness and anti-spoofing, email age estimation, a Challenge-25 option, and an ID verification fallback | On-device facial age estimation (FaceAssure), on-device voice age estimation (VoiceAssure), and selfie plus NFC-enabled identity document verification, stated as Android only with iOS “coming up soon”, per privately.eu |
| Public pricing | Free Trial plan with 100 age verifications a month; Core from a $99 monthly minimum at $0.084 per verification; Forensic from a $599 monthly minimum at $0.024 per verification. Liveness detection is $0.16 per check on every plan. | Per developer.privately.eu: Sandbox free (100 checks, 4-week trial, on-browser); Deployment on-browser at £200 a month for 1,000 checks, £500 for 2,500, £1,000 for 5,000, £2,000 for 10,000; Enterprise and mobile SDKs by sales contact. Prices published in GBP only |
| Free tier | 100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan | 100 checks in a free 4-week sandbox; liveness and anti-spoofing marked unavailable on that tier |
| NIST FATE age estimation evaluation | Evaluated in the NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification track (submission bynn-000, report card updated 3 July 2026): highest True Positive Rate of any evaluated submission in the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 category at 72.53%, with a Mean Absolute Error of 2.094 years | One submission, privately-000 (14 January 2026). Main table, MAE over ages 18 to 30: 3.389 years Visa (rank 21), 3.464 Application, 4.022 Border, 3.953 Mugshots. Child Online Safety 13 to 16: TPR 0.4822 (rank 14), MAE 3.0484. Privately’s own site states “Certified 1.3 years accuracy” |
| Integration | JavaScript SDK (modal or redirect flows), REST API and webhooks, with a sandbox on the free Trial plan | Native SDKs for Android and iOS, and a web SDK embedded as an iframe returning a signed JWT by redirect, postMessage or webhook, per documentation.privately.eu. A standalone REST API or no-code plugins are not stated in the materials we reviewed |
| Face image handling | States it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum data needed to estimate age | States facial images do not leave the device and are destroyed immediately after estimation; the browser product retains only a session ID and an age range. The free sandbox tier states images might be backed up on the server |
| Certifications stated | ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR-compliant data handling | ISO/IEC 27566-1 age assurance certification, Age Check Certification Scheme GDPR and Challenge 25 certification, UKAS Challenge 25, KJM positive evaluation in Germany, and an ICO audit approval for its retail product. ISO 27001 and SOC 2 are not stated in the materials we reviewed |
| Stated speed | Results in seconds for facial and email checks | Online product page lists “30 seconds” as time to do an age check; the in-store AgeAI+ page lists “<1 second”. NIST measured a median estimation function time of 63.59 milliseconds for privately-000 |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Statements about what Privately offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not prove it is unavailable.
Where we agree with Privately: the face should not be kept
Privately’s entire product is an argument that age estimation can be done without a server ever holding a face. Agemin agrees with the destination and takes a different road to it: the selfie is processed in the cloud, the image is not stored, and the merchant receives an age result rather than a picture. On-device processing removes a category of risk; cloud processing lets the model be larger than a browser download and lets the vendor update it without shipping a new SDK. Both are defensible. Your regulator and your data protection officer will have a view on which they prefer.
Where the two can be compared directly is NIST. Both models sit in the same FATE Age Estimation and Verification tables, so the numbers are not vendor claims. In the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 table, NIST lists Agemin’s submission at a True Positive Rate of 72.53%, rank 1, and Privately’s at 0.4822, rank 14. On the adult Visa dataset NIST lists Privately at 3.389 years MAE, rank 21, and Agemin’s report card states 2.094 years. Read the rows that match your audience; a platform gating teenagers and a retailer checking adults are looking at different columns.
The last difference is method breadth. Privately offers facial and voice, both on-device. Agemin offers facial and email, with an ID fallback, all through one SDK and API. If your users will not open a camera, Agemin has a route that needs none; if your users must never send a face anywhere, Privately has the route built for that.
Agemin fits you if
- You need email age estimation for flows where a camera prompt would lose the user
- The NIST Child Online Safety 13 to 16 True Positive Rate is the result that matches your risk
- You want 100 free checks every month rather than a one-time sandbox
- You are integrating through a JavaScript SDK or REST API and want an ID fallback in the same flow
Privately may fit you if
- Facial images must never leave the user’s device, as a matter of policy
- Voice age estimation is useful for your product
- You want native Android and iOS SDKs and a published GBP price for the browser product
- You are verifying age at a retail point of sale
Common questions
If you want cloud-side facial and email age estimation with published USD pricing and 100 free age verifications a month on the trial plan, yes. Both facial models are in the NIST FATE results. Privately’s distinctive feature is on-device processing, where the image never leaves the device; Agemin processes in the cloud and states it does not store the facial image.
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Privately’s official website, documentation and published materials, on the public NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification results, and on Agemin’s own published pricing and features, as reviewed on September 7, 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Please verify current details directly with each provider before purchasing.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which age assurance method satisfies a given law depends on the jurisdiction, the content and the regulator’s guidance. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Privately homepage (positioning, certifications) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately online age verification page (methods, on-device statement, speed) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately developer portal plans (pricing tiers, sandbox terms) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately documentation (SDKs and web integration) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately privacy policy (browser data retention) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately restricted retail page (accuracy statement) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Privately AgeAI+ page (in-store speed) (verified September 7, 2026)
- NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification results (main and Child Online Safety tables) (verified September 7, 2026)
- NIST FATE AEV report card for privately_000 (verified September 7, 2026)
- NIST FATE AEV report card for Agemin’s model (bynn-000) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Agemin pricing (our own published claims) (verified September 7, 2026)
Agemin is an independent service operated by Bynn Intelligence Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Privately. All third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
Related comparisons
Try the NIST-evaluated model on your own traffic
100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan, then from $0.084 per verification. SDK and API access from the first minute.