Agemin
Comparison

Agemin vs k-ID

These two solve different-shaped problems. k-ID sells a compliance engine for youth audiences: a free jurisdiction thresholds API, a paid AgeKit+ that orchestrates its own facial age estimation alongside Veratad ID scans, Stripe card checks and regional methods, and a parental consent product, priced by demo. Agemin sells age verification itself: NIST-evaluated facial age estimation, email age estimation and an ID fallback through one SDK and API, with published prices and 100 free checks a month.

Information last reviewed September 7, 2026. Compared: Agemin’s published plans against k-ID’s AgeKit, AgeKit+ and related products as publicly described on k-id.com and docs.k-id.com, in USD where prices are stated.

See Agemin pricing

Still shortlisting? See all alternatives to k-ID, including services we do not sell.

Where Agemin and k-ID differ

Published per-verification pricing

Agemin publishes its plans: 100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan, then Core at $0.084 per verification from a $99 monthly minimum. k-ID states its AgeKit thresholds API is free, but publishes no per-check price for AgeKit+ verification; the product pages route to “Book Demo” and k-id.com/pricing returns not found (as of September 2026).

A NIST result you can open

NIST FATE AEV evaluated: highest True Positive Rate in the 13 to 16 Child Online Safety category, with the report card linked from agemin.com. k-ID states on its AgeKit+ page that it is “Top-ranked on the NIST global MAE benchmark” with an age precision of 1.65 to 1.95 years, but no k-ID submission appears in the NIST FATE AEV participant list or report as updated through 31 July 2026, and k-ID does not say under which submitter name it was tested.

k-ID’s jurisdiction engine is the wider product

k-ID states coverage across 200+ jurisdictions, 50+ managed permissions and 22,000+ monitored legal sources, with a no-code Compliance Studio and a free API that returns the correct age threshold for any jurisdiction. Agemin does not sell a rules engine of that kind; it returns an age result and leaves the policy to you. If you ship a game or social product across many countries and want the thresholds looked up for you, that engine is k-ID’s strongest argument.

Two answers to “where does the face go?”

k-ID offers on-device facial age estimation where, in its words, no images leave the browser, and a server-side option it describes as “process, decide, delete”, storing only pass or fail. Agemin states it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum data needed to estimate age. Both publish a no-storage position; k-ID additionally offers the on-device path.

Agemin and k-ID, side by side

Feature and pricing comparison between Agemin and k-ID, based on public materials reviewed on September 7, 2026.
AttributeAgemink-ID
Methods offeredFacial age estimation with liveness and anti-spoofing, email age estimation, a Challenge-25 option, and an ID verification fallbackFacial age estimation (on-device or server-side, described as k-ID’s own youth-optimised models), ID scan via Veratad, credit card via Stripe, email age estimation, AgeKey credential, and regional methods including ConnectID, Singpass, KISA, CPF and last-4 SSN, per docs.k-id.com
Public pricingFree Trial plan with 100 age verifications a month; Core from a $99 monthly minimum at $0.084 per verification; Forensic from a $599 monthly minimum at $0.024 per verification. Liveness detection is $0.16 per check on every plan.AgeKit thresholds API stated as “Free”; AgeKit+ and CDK pages use “Book Demo” with no per-verification price, minimum or currency published (k-id.com/pricing returns not found as of September 2026)
Free tier100 free age verifications a month on the Trial planThe AgeKit thresholds API is free; a free tier for verification checks is not stated in the public materials we reviewed
NIST FATE age estimation evaluationEvaluated in the NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification track (submission bynn-000, report card updated 3 July 2026): highest True Positive Rate of any evaluated submission in the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 category at 72.53%, with a Mean Absolute Error of 2.094 yearsk-ID states “Top-ranked on the NIST global MAE benchmark” and an age precision of “1.65 - 1.95 yrs” on its AgeKit+ page. No k-ID submission appears in NIST’s FATE AEV results or report as updated through 31 July 2026
IntegrationJavaScript SDK (modal or redirect flows), REST API and webhooks, with a sandbox on the free Trial planHosted widget (web iframe, pop-up or redirect, mobile embedded browser, in-game browser, QR handoff on consoles) or an HTTP RPC-style REST API; Swift and Kotlin WebView samples; no-code Compliance Studio. Native iOS, Android, Unity or Unreal SDKs are not stated in the docs we reviewed
Face image handlingStates it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum data needed to estimate agePrivacy policy states facial images processed on-device are never uploaded to a remote server and that k-ID stores only the pass or fail result; server-side option described as “process, decide, delete”. No numeric retention window stated
Certifications statedISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR-compliant data handlingSOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 27701, ESRB Privacy Certified, Age Check Certification Scheme certification (EAL3 stated for facial age estimation in its product newsletter)
Stated speedResults in seconds for facial and email checks“<50ms” P90 API response time on product pages (API latency, not end-to-end verification); docs say a face scan returns an estimate “within seconds”

Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Statements about what k-ID offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not prove it is unavailable.

Where we agree with k-ID: the method should fit the jurisdiction

k-ID’s whole product is built on the observation that the right age check in Texas is not the right age check in Singapore, and that a platform serving teenagers needs thresholds, permissions and consent flows that change by country. Agemin agrees. Its email age estimation exists precisely because some laws accept a transactional-data signal and some do not, and its product pages map the method to the statute rather than promising one check for everything.

The difference is where each company draws its box. k-ID draws it around compliance: a rules engine, an orchestration layer over several verification providers, and parental consent, with facial age estimation as one input among many. Agemin draws it around the verification itself: one NIST-evaluated facial model, one email model, an ID fallback, and an SDK and API you wire into whatever policy layer you already run.

That makes the honest comparison a question of what you are buying. If you need someone to tell you the threshold and route to the right provider, k-ID sells that and Agemin does not. If you need an age result with a published price, a free sandbox and an independent accuracy measurement you can link to in a compliance file, that is what Agemin sells.

Agemin fits you if

  • You want a published per-verification price and 100 free checks a month before any sales conversation
  • An independent NIST evaluation you can cite, with the report card linked, matters to your compliance review
  • You already run your own policy layer and need an age result through a JavaScript SDK or REST API
  • Email age estimation without a selfie is part of your flow

k-ID may fit you if

  • You ship a game or social product across many countries and want age thresholds looked up per jurisdiction for you
  • You need verifiable parental consent and youth permissions managed in the same platform
  • On-device facial age estimation, where the image never leaves the browser, is a hard requirement
  • You want regional methods such as Singpass, ConnectID or CPF behind one integration

Common questions

For the age verification itself, yes: Agemin offers NIST-evaluated facial age estimation, email age estimation and an ID fallback with published pricing and 100 free age verifications a month on the trial plan. It does not replace k-ID’s jurisdiction rules engine or parental consent product; if you need those, k-ID is the wider platform and Agemin is a verification component.

How we compared

This comparison is based on publicly available information from k-ID’s official website, documentation and published materials, on the public NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification results, and on Agemin’s own published pricing and features, as reviewed on September 7, 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Please verify current details directly with each provider before purchasing.

Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which age assurance method satisfies a given law depends on the jurisdiction, the content and the regulator’s guidance. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.

Sources

Agemin is an independent service operated by Bynn Intelligence Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by k-ID. All third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.

Try the NIST-evaluated model on your own traffic

100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan, then from $0.084 per verification. SDK and API access from the first minute.

See pricing