Agemin
Comparison

Agemin vs AgeChecked

AgeChecked verifies age mostly by looking things up: database checks against credit bureaus, a credit card record, a UK mobile number, or a scanned document, delivered through a pop-up gateway, an API and e-commerce plugins, with UK ISO 27001 and PAS 1296 certification. Agemin estimates age instead: a NIST-evaluated facial model, an email model and an ID fallback, priced per verification with 100 free checks a month. Which one fits depends on whether your users can be found in a database.

Information last reviewed September 7, 2026. Compared: Agemin’s published plans against AgeChecked’s online verification products as publicly described on agechecked.com, in USD and GBP where prices are stated.

See Agemin pricing

Still shortlisting? See all alternatives to AgeChecked, including services we do not sell.

Where Agemin and AgeChecked differ

Estimation versus lookup

AgeChecked’s methods work from records: a credit bureau entry, a credit card, a UK mobile number or a government document. Agemin facial age estimation with liveness and anti-spoofing, email age estimation, a Challenge-25 option, and an ID verification fallback, so a user with no UK credit footprint can still be verified from a selfie or an email address.

An independent accuracy measurement for the facial method

Evaluated in the NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification track (submission bynn-000, report card updated 3 July 2026): highest True Positive Rate of any evaluated submission in the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 category at 72.53%, with a Mean Absolute Error of 2.094 years. AgeChecked describes facial analysis in a 2025 blog post but does not name it on a product page, publishes no accuracy figure for it, and does not appear in the NIST FATE AEV results as of September 2026.

Per-verification pricing for the API, not only the plugins

Agemin publishes its plans: 100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan, then Core at $0.084 per verification from a $99 monthly minimum. AgeChecked publishes prices for its WooCommerce plugin (from £40.00 a month for 100 checks) and Shopify app (credits from $0.45 down to $0.30 each, Plus at $99.99 a month), but its main product page asks you to “speak to us about our pricing packages” for the API (as of September 2026).

AgeChecked’s UK credentials and store plugins

AgeChecked states ISO 27001 and PAS 1296 certification, and integrates with Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento 2 and BigCommerce through its own app and partners, with no charge for returning customers on its Shopify plan. If you sell age-restricted goods to UK customers from a store platform and want database checks with UK certification, that is AgeChecked’s home ground.

Agemin and AgeChecked, side by side

Feature and pricing comparison between Agemin and AgeChecked, based on public materials reviewed on September 7, 2026.
AttributeAgeminAgeChecked
Methods offeredFacial age estimation with liveness and anti-spoofing, email age estimation, a Challenge-25 option, and an ID verification fallbackDatabase check, credit card, mobile phone number and document scan per its Assured Advice document; channels are Batch Upload, Client API, Consumer Gateway, Secondary Check and ID Scan. Facial analysis is described in a 2025 blog post only
Public pricingFree Trial plan with 100 age verifications a month; Core from a $99 monthly minimum at $0.084 per verification; Forensic from a $599 monthly minimum at $0.024 per verification. Liveness detection is $0.16 per check on every plan.Main product page: “Speak to us about our pricing packages”. WooCommerce plugin: free plugin, “Starting at £40.00 per month for 100 checks”. Shopify app: Basic plan free with credit packs from $0.45 per credit (100 credits) to $0.30 per credit (1,000 credits), Plus plan $99.99 a month
Free tier100 free age verifications a month on the Trial planThe Shopify Basic plan is free to install; checks are charged by credit pack. A free allowance of checks is not stated in the public materials we reviewed
NIST FATE age estimation evaluationEvaluated in the NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification track (submission bynn-000, report card updated 3 July 2026): highest True Positive Rate of any evaluated submission in the Child Online Safety 13 to 16 category at 72.53%, with a Mean Absolute Error of 2.094 yearsNo AgeChecked submission listed in the NIST FATE AEV results as of September 2026. No facial age estimation accuracy figure published on agechecked.com
IntegrationJavaScript SDK (modal or redirect flows), REST API and webhooks, with a sandbox on the free Trial planCSV batch upload via client portal, Client API, Consumer Gateway pop-up, a WooCommerce plugin and a Shopify app, and partner integrations for Magento 2 and BigCommerce. Public developer documentation and mobile SDKs are not stated in the materials we reviewed
Face image handlingStates it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum data needed to estimate ageStates it anonymises users and wipes information as soon as age is confirmed, retaining only date of birth or age in anonymised form; face image or biometric retention specifically is not stated in the materials we reviewed
Certifications statedISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, GDPR-compliant data handlingISO 27001 and PAS 1296 per agechecked.com
Stated speedResults in seconds for facial and email checks“It only takes seconds to get the results” from the Consumer Gateway; no numeric figure published

Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Statements about what AgeChecked offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not prove it is unavailable.

Where we agree with AgeChecked: keep nothing you do not need

AgeChecked’s pages repeat one promise: the customer is anonymised, the information is wiped as soon as age is confirmed, and the merchant gets a thumbs up or a thumbs down rather than personal data. Agemin is built on the same principle. It states it does not store the user’s facial image and processes only the minimum needed to return an age, and the merchant receives a result, not a face.

The methods behind that result are where the two part ways. A database check is fast and invisible when the user exists in the data, which is often true for UK adults with a credit history and often false for everyone else: young adults, recent arrivals, users outside the UK, and anyone paying with a prepaid card. Facial and email estimation do not need the user to be on file, which is why Agemin leads with them and keeps document verification as the fallback rather than the default.

The last difference is evidence. AgeChecked’s credentials are UK certificates covering process and data protection. Agemin’s facial model has additionally been measured by NIST on government datasets, and the report card is linked from its site. If your regulator wants a certified process, ask AgeChecked for its certificates. If it wants a measured error rate for the estimation itself, that is the NIST link.

Agemin fits you if

  • Your users are not reliably in UK credit or mobile databases
  • You want facial and email age estimation with a NIST-published error rate you can cite
  • You want per-verification API pricing and 100 free checks a month before any sales conversation
  • You are integrating through a JavaScript SDK or REST API with public documentation

AgeChecked may fit you if

  • Your customers are UK adults who can be verified against credit bureau, card or mobile records without a selfie
  • A PAS 1296 certificate is what your regulator asks for
  • You run a Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento 2 or BigCommerce store and want a plugin with no charge for returning customers
  • You need batch verification of an existing customer list by CSV upload

Common questions

If you want to estimate age rather than look it up, yes. Agemin offers NIST-evaluated facial age estimation, email age estimation and an ID fallback through a JavaScript SDK and REST API, with published pricing and 100 free age verifications a month on the trial plan. AgeChecked verifies against databases, cards, mobile numbers and documents, holds UK scheme certificates, and prices its API by contacting sales.

How we compared

This comparison is based on publicly available information from AgeChecked’s official website, documentation and published materials, on the public NIST FATE Age Estimation and Verification results, and on Agemin’s own published pricing and features, as reviewed on September 7, 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Please verify current details directly with each provider before purchasing.

Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which age assurance method satisfies a given law depends on the jurisdiction, the content and the regulator’s guidance. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.

Sources

Agemin is an independent service operated by Bynn Intelligence Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by AgeChecked. All third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.

Try the NIST-evaluated model on your own traffic

100 free age verifications a month on the Trial plan, then from $0.084 per verification. SDK and API access from the first minute.

See pricing